The 2023 MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs) is set to be a big night for K-pop, with groups like BLACKPINK, NewJeans, SEVENTEEN, TOMORROW X TOGETHER, and FIFTY FIFTY nominated for 'Group of the Year'.

The prestigious award ceremony, one of the top four in the U.S. alongside the Grammy Awards, Billboard Music Awards, and American Music Awards, will take place at 8 PM (local time) on the 12th at the Prudential Center in New Jersey.

According to the VMAs website, the 'Group of the Year' category sees nominations for BLACKPINK, NewJeans, SEVENTEEN, TOMORROW X TOGETHER, and FIFTY FIFTY. They are competing alongside UK's R&B trio Flo, American boy band Jonas Brothers, and Italian mixed rock band Måneskin, making it a total of eight nominees. The fact that five K-pop acts are nominated in this category underscores the rising global prominence of K-pop.

BTS's Jungkook is aiming for a win in the 'Song of Summer' category with his Billboard Hot 100 No.1 solo single 'Seven'. This marks his second consecutive nomination in this category, having been nominated last year for his collaboration with Charlie Puth on 'Left and Right'. Given that BTS has won at the VMAs for four consecutive years up to last year, expectations are high for the 2023 VMAs.

BLACKPINK has set a record by being nominated in six categories: 'Group of the Year', 'Show of the Summer', 'Best K-Pop', 'Best Choreography', 'Best Art Direction', and 'Best Editing', making them the most nominated group at the 2023 VMAs.

Following BLACKPINK, TOMORROW X TOGETHER has been nominated in four categories: 'Group of the Year', 'Song of Summer', 'PUSH Performance of the Year', and 'Best K-Pop'. SEVENTEEN has secured nominations in two categories: 'Best K-Pop' and 'Group of the Year'.

Additionally, in the 'Song of the Summer' category, alongside BTS's Jungkook with 'Seven', FIFTY FIFTY's 'Cupid', and TOMORROW X TOGETHER's collaboration with Jonas Brothers on 'Do It Like That' are also included. In the 'Best K-Pop' category, BLACKPINK's 'Pink Venom', TOMORROW X TOGETHER's 'Sugar Rush Ride', aespa's 'Girls', FIFTY FIFTY's 'Cupid', SEVENTEEN's 'Son O Gong', and Stray Kids' 'Teuk' are competing.

Furthermore, two K-pop boy groups are preparing for performances. TOMORROW X TOGETHER will preview a track from their upcoming third album 'Name of the Chapter: FREEFALL', set to release on October 13th, alongside Brazilian pop star Anitta. Stray Kids will make their U.S. television debut with 'Teuk', the title track from their third album '5-STAR', released last June.